2000-07-12 - six twenty two


i can't believe this.

my father just walked into the room.

i heard a voice from beyond my headphones (listening to aphex twin) and i thought "a guy?" then i realized it was my father.

he lives in minnesota, so him dropping by is a big thing.

it's sad when you can't recognize your father's voice.

he gave me some cash, asked me if i was happy with the modem speed, and now he's out the door again.

i'm reminded of how when i was about 10 yrs old, i asked my dad for a christmas gift: a lawnmower. i asked my mom for a toaster. yup, i was practical.

i was sorta neglected as a kid, y'know? it wasn't just having a father in another state. no one read to me or cared when i said "ey, how come we never have any toast around here, and such a crappy lawnmower?"

i considered christmas to be one of the few times i could communicate with my family. and i remain unsure as to what message i got across.


<> - <>