2006-02-28 - 1:06 a.m.


I don't know how to swim but I don't want to know. Lying in bed with headphones on is the closest I'll ever get to knowing what it's like. Real swimming probably isn't as floaty, so I'd just be disappointed in the feeling.

(That's how it was with blueberries, that's how Anne of Green Gables was with diamonds.)

Lately it's been a lot of Elliott Smith and Magnetic Fields on loop.

"I think amethysts are just sweet. They are what I used to think diamonds were like. Long ago, before I had ever seen a diamond, I read about them and I tried to imagine what they would be like. I thought they would be lovely glimmering purple stones. When I saw a real diamond in a lady's ring one day I was so disappointed I cried. Of course, it was very lovely but it wasn't my idea of a diamond. Will you let me hold the brooch for one minute, Marilla? Do you think amethysts can be the souls of good violets?"


<> - <>